October 10, 2017

The DALE Foundation welcomes 2017-2018 Board of Trustees

The DALE Foundation, the official affiliate of the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB), is pleased to announce its 2017-2018 Board of Trustees. They are leaders in the dental field dedicated to helping their peers advance their careers with continuing education and the latest tools and information.

  • President – Frank A. Maggio, D.D.S.
  • President-Elect – Joanne Dawley, D.D.S.
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Lorraine “Lori” Gagliardi, CDA, FADAA, RDA, RDH, Ed.D.
  • Immediate Past President – Jennifer Todd, CDA, COA, M.S.
  • Opal Anderson, FAADOM
  • Dave Halpern, D.M.D., FAGD, FACD
  • Guinevere B. Juckett, CDA, CPFDA, CRFDA, EFDA
  • Katharine “Kate” Noble, CDA, CRFDA, SSgt ME Air National Guard
  • Kathy Zwieg, CDA, LDA
  • Ex-Officio Member Cynthia C. Durley, M.Ed., MBA

Frank Maggio, D.D.S., who practices in Elgin, Illinois, is the newly elected President. Dr. Maggio is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Illinois College of Dentistry in the Department of Periodontology. His distinguished service to dentistry includes serving on numerous committees of the American Dental Association (ADA) since 1971. Dr. Maggio also served on the DANB Board of Directors for six years, which included five years as Chair of the Board.

Joanne Dawley, D.D.S., is the newly elected President-Elect. Dr. Dawley runs her own general practice in Southfield, Michigan, and served as 2016-2017 Chair of the DANB Board of Directors. She has been an active member of the ADA at the national, state and local levels for 25 years, including serving as a delegate or alternate delegate in the ADA House of Delegates since 2000.

Lorraine “Lori” Gagliardi, CDA, FADAA, RDA, RDH, Ed.D., of La Verne, California, is the newly elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Board. She is the Dental Assisting Program Director at Pasadena City College in California, as well as an author and contributor to textbooks, articles and other publications.

Jennifer Todd, CDA, COA, M.S., of Omaha, Nebraska, is the Immediate Past President. From 2015 through early 2017, she held the position of Territory Account Manager for Ultradent Products, Inc. Ms. Todd has also worked in dental assisting education and as a clinical dental assistant, and was very active in the Nebraska dental community, including serving as President of the Nebraska Dental Assistants Association.

Opal Anderson, FAADOM, of Westerville, Ohio, is a dental consultant with the Opal Group of Ohio, which she launched in 2010 to assist offices with transitions, compliance, training and more. She has nearly 20 years of experience in dental office management. Ms. Anderson earned Fellowship in the American Association of Dental Office Management in 2016, became a Certified Dentrix Trainer with Henry Schein Practice Solutions in 2015 and received her Ohio state radiology certificate in 2011.

David Halpern, D.M.D., FAGD, FACD, maintains a private dental practice in Columbia, Maryland. Dr. Halpern has been active in the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) for more than 35 years, including serving as its Secretary from 2003-2007 and President from 2009-2010, and is a recipient of the AGD Distinguished Service Award.

Guinevere B. Juckett, CDA, CPFDA, CRFDA, EFDA, works for a private dental practice in Middlefield, Ohio, as an expanded function dental auxiliary and dental office manager. Ms. Juckett is a member of the American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA) and is working toward earning ADAA Fellowship.

Katharine “Kate” Noble, CDA, CRFDA, SSgt ME Air National Guard, of Vienna, Maine, works as a dental assistant at St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center. Ms. Noble retired in May 2017 after 21 years as a Hospital Corpsman, Chief Petty Officer, in the U.S. Navy Reserve and as the Senior Enlisted Leader for Expeditionary Medical Facility Bethesda in Bangor, Maine, and she has won numerous awards for her service, including the Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal. Ms. Noble also serves as Chair of the 2017-2018 DANB Board of Directors.

Carol K. Oeder, CDA, COA, CPFDA, CRFDA, CDPMA, FADAA, LPN, of Hiawassee, Georgia, is a consultant. Previously, she was a Compliance Specialist/Internal Auditor at Dental Associates in Wisconsin, where she was employed for more than 15 years. Ms. Oeder served on DANB's Board of Directors from 2009-2015, which included serving as Vice Chair for five years. She is a member of the ADAA and earned Fellowship in the ADAA in 2004.

Kathy Zwieg, CDA, LDA, of Houston, Texas, is a consultant focusing on the implementation of technology and operations initiatives within dental practices and organizations. Previously, she served as Editor-in-Chief of Inside Dental Assisting magazine and has also held numerous roles within dental practices, including director of professional relations and operations manager. She began her career as a chairside dental assistant and dental assisting instructor. Ms. Zwieg is an author and contributor to dental assisting textbooks and magazines, among other publications.

The DALE Foundation thanks outgoing Secretary-Treasurer of the Board Teresa Duncan, M.S., FADIA, FAADOM, and outgoing Immediate Past President Virginia Jorgensen, CDA, EFDA, EFODA, A.A.S., for their dedicated service on the Board.

Read more about the DALE Foundation’s Board of Trustees.


Prefer to talk over the phone? Give us a call! 1-877-510-3253