New Jersey CE Requirements
Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) and Limited Registered Dental Assistant in Orthodontics (LRDA-O)
# CE Required: 10 hours*
Renewal Period: Every 2 years
Required Topics: 6 hours must be from the following topics:
- Hands-on CPR training for healthcare providers (3 hours)
- Infection control and prevention in dental settings (1 hour)
- Professional ethics and New Jersey law pertaining to the practice of dental assisting (1 hour)
- Prescription of opioids, including the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion (1 hour)
More information: New Jersey State Board of Dentistry Rules (Regulation 13:30-5.3)
Notes: No more than 5 CE hours may be obtained through written or electronic media distance learning courses. Webinars shall not be considered electronic media distance learning courses if they are live (not previously recorded) and synchronous (the instructor and registrant interact with each other in real time).
*In addition to the CE requirements for all RDAs, an RDA who monitors patients to whom a supervising dentist has administered nitrous oxide/oxygen inhalation analgesia must complete a three-hour didactic or clinical course in nitrous oxide/oxygen inhalation analgesia in every other registration renewal period.