Maine Dental Assistant Requirements

Radiography Requirements

To legally operate dental x-ray equipment and perform dental radiographic procedures in Maine, under the general supervision of a licensed dentist or independent practice dental hygienist, a dental assistant must meet the requirements shown below.

Radiography Requirements

A dental assistant must be licensed as a Dental Radiographer by the Maine Board of Dental Practice (MBDP). To qualify for a license, a dental assistant must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age, AND

2. Be currently certified in CPR, AND

3. Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent, AND

4a. Successfully complete the national DANB Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) or Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) exam, OR

4b. Provide official transcript showing proof of completion of a dental radiography course within a CODA-accredited dental assisting program, which included a dental radiography exam, AND

5. Successfully complete, with a passing grade of 85 percent, the MBDP's jurisprudence exam, AND

6. Submit an application and pay applicable fee to the MBDP. 

Note: The Maine legislature enacted a new Dental Practice Act during the 2016 legislative session. The Maine Board of Dental Practice is in the process of updating its rules to conform to the new law. The requirements above are found in 32 MRS 18343 and Board Rule, Chapter 10. 

Dental Assisting Job Titles and Requirements for Each Level

Dental Assistant

A dental assistant in the state of Maine may perform basic supportive dental procedures specified by the state dental practice act under the supervision of a licensed dentist.

Dentists must ensure that all dental personnel complete Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers (BLS) certification and maintain current BLS certification when utilizing, administering, or monitoring local anesthesia, nitrous oxide analgesia, minimal sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia.

DANB Certified Dental Assistant (CDA)

Dental assistants who hold the national DANB Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) certification are qualified in the state of Maine to perform additional functions outlined in the Maine Dental Practice Act.

Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA)

To perform expanded functions under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist, a dental assistant must earn status as an Expanded Function Dental Assistant (EFDA). To qualify, one must:

1. Be 18 years of age or older, AND

2. Be currently certified in CPR, AND

3. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent, AND

4a. Hold DANB Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) certification or a Registered Dental Hygienist license, AND successfully completed a formal program in EFDA, approved by the MBDP, at a CODA-accredited program or an equivalent program as determined by the MBDP, or

4b. Be credentialed to perform as an expanded function dental assistant by another state or Canadian province, whose standards are acceptable to the MBDP, AND

5. Successfully complete, with a passing grade of 90 percent, the MBDP jurisprudence exam, AND

6. Submit an application and pay applicable fee to the MBDP. 

Note: The Maine legislature enacted a new Dental Practice Act during the 2016 legislative session. The MBDP is in the process of updating its rules to conform to the new law. The requirements above are found in 32 MRS 18344 and Board Rule, Chapter 2. 

Additional Resources

loading
Prefer to talk over the phone? Give us a call! 1-877-510-3253