Oklahoma Dental Assistant Requirements
Note: The information below reflects changes to the Oklahoma State Dental Act enacted by the Oklahoma legislature during the 2015 legislative session. The Oklahoma Board of Dentistry is currently in the process of implementing these changes. For information on currently available expanded function permits, please contact the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry.
To legally operate dental x-ray equipment and perform dental radiographic procedures in the state of Oklahoma, a dental assistant must obtain a permit from the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry (OBD). To qualify, one must:
1a. Complete a course of study in radiation safety and protection, consisting of a minimum of seven hours, approved by the OBD, AND
1b. Submit written verification to the OBD from the applicant’s current employing dentist attesting to competent clinical experience, AND
1c. Apply for a Radiation Safety permit from the OBD, OR
2a. Hold DANB® Certified Dental Assistant™ (CDA®) certification (see requirements under the heading “Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) certificant” below), AND
2b. Apply for a Radiation Safety permit from the OBD.
(Note: Holders of CDA certification must provide proof to the OBD that they are in current compliance with the requirements set forth by DANB to maintain their CDA certification upon each yearly renewal of their Oklahoma permit.)
Dental Assisting Job Titles and Requirements for Each Level
Every dental assistant in Oklahoma must obtain a Dental Assistant permit from the Board of Dentistry within 30 days of beginning employment. To obtain a permit, one must submit a completed application form and the required fee to the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry. Prior to receiving a permit, the dental assistant must work under the dentist's direct visual supervision at all times.
A dental assistant in the state of Oklahoma may perform basic supportive dental procedures specified by the state dental practice act under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist.
A dental assistant must receive adequate office-based training by the supervisory dentist to ensure that the dental assistant is aware of all requirements and responsiblities of each duty to be performed.
Dental Assistant with expanded function permit
To perform expanded functions in the state of Oklahoma under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist, a dental assistant must obtain a permit from the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry (OBD) for each expanded duty that he or she desires to perform.
Permit applicants must complete expanded duty training in each of the desired functions at a CODA-accredited dental assisting program, or a course by DANB that meets the requirements of the OBD, or a course approved by the OBD. Available permits are:
Radiation Safety: See "Radiography Requirements" above
Coronal Polishing/Topical Fluoride: A dental assistant must successfully complete an OBD-approved course of study, including a clinical component, consisting of a minimum of 14 hours.
Sealants: A dental assistant must successfully earn the Coronal Polishing/Topical Fluoride permit and complete an OBD-approved course of study, consisting of a minimum of 12 hours.
Assisting in the Administration of Nitrous Oxide: A dental assistant must successfully complete an OBD-approved course of study, consisting of a minimum of 12 hours.
Certified Dental Assistant™ (CDA®) certificant
Dental assistants who have met the educational prerequisites and passed the Certified Dental Assistant examination, including the Radiation Health and Safety (RHS), Infection Control (ICE) and General Chairside (GC) component exams, established by DANB will have their CDA certification status acknowledged on their Oklahoma dental assistant permit. A dental assistant meeting the qualifications of a CDA certificant set forth by DANB, shall also receive an expanded duty permit for radiation safety (see “Radiography Requirements” above). Holders of CDA certification shall provide proof to the Board that they are in current compliance with the requirements set forth by DANB to maintain their CDA upon each yearly renewal of their permit.
Oral Maxillofacial Surgery Assistant
To earn an Oral Maxillofacial Surgery Assistant permit in Oklahoma, one must:
- Be of good moral character, AND
- Be supervised by an oral maxillofacial surgeon with a current Oklahoma license, AND
- Be employed and complete a minimum of six months of training under the direct supervision of a licensed oral maxillofacial surgeon prior to starting the DAANCE program (see below), AND
- Complete the Dental Anesthesia Assistant National Certification Examination (DAANCE) program provided by the American Association of Oral Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS), AND
- Hold valid BLS certification, AND
- Complete a standardized course approved by the OBD including a minimum of four hours of didactic training that includes the required content, AND
- Complete an infection control course approved by the Board, AND
- Meet any other requirements established by the OBD, AND
- Apply to the OBD for an Oral Maxillofacial Surgery Assistant permit.
Note: The OBD’s anesthesia committee may make a recommendation to the OBD for an oral maxillofacial surgery assistant holding a temporary training permit to substitute training received from another state university, dental school or technical training institute or training acquired in a surgery center or hospital while working under the authority of a licensed physician, to qualify as a partial substitute for the requirements to attain an oral maxillofacial surgery assistant permit.